Law Office of Cecil & Cianci, PC
Speak with one of our attorneys today
916-756-4012
Choosing The Right Approach For You Integrity and Commitment to Client Service

California ranked as one of worst 7 states for divorce

If you are thinking about getting a divorce in California, you might have reached the point where you just have to do whatever it takes to get it done. That is likely what it will take when you consider that California is one of the seven worst states in which to seek a divorce.

The history of divorce in California has been an interesting one. California was the first state to allow a no-fault divorce, which was something signed into law when Ronald Reagan was governor in 1970. However, California also has a lengthy cool-down period after a couple files for a divorce. That period is six months, so you will remain married for at least six months after you file for divorce.

California also has a considerable processing time when it comes to divorce. It can take 360 days for a divorce to become finalized. That can add an extra layer of stress for people who are ready to have the marriage dissipated.

Another consideration in California is the cost of filing for divorce. Just the filing fees are $395, which is in addition to any other expenses incurred as a result of the divorce.

While these factors might make some balk, those who are truly ready for a marriage to be done might be willing to just deal with all those factors. In the end, knowing what to expect can help to make the process less stressful. You can do this by ensuring your questions are answered as you go through the divorce proceedings to end your marriage.

Source: ABC News, "Top 7 Worst States for Divorce" Aug. 07, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Back To Top